Expedient feedback — certainly not what I expected!

Five months ago I submitted a manuscript for publication at a certain journal I shall not name. Having not heard a peep, last night, I sent off a message asking if everything was okay. I got back a message today that made me laugh. It said:

Thank you for your email. Providing you with expedient feedback regarding your manuscript is important to us. We are currently awaiting for reviewer scores to be returned and will notify you of the Journal‘s decision as soon as all reviewers have submitted their reviews.

While I had hoped for expeditious feedback, I never bargained for expedient feedback. It’s too late for expeditious feedback. A five month wait has already ruled that out no matter how good the feedback might eventually be. As for expediency, I can only imagine what that might entail.

Now for anyone wondering what on earth I’m talking about, some definitions: Screen Shot 2014-10-23 at 10.26.14 PM

Screen Shot 2014-10-23 at 10.26.33 PM

So, I’ve been promised convenient and practical, although improper and immoral, feedback on my paper. Providing such feedback, I’m assured, is important to the journal’s editorial team.

Should I tell the person who wrote to me that they’ve been using the wrong word or should I just leave it alone?

Leave a comment